Matching-Highest-Degree Vegetarianism

As some of you may know, I am (at the present) not a vegetarian.

As some of you may also know, I tried being vegan once about four years ago, and stayed so for about two months, and then backed off to some alternation of being vegetarian and being vegan most days for a few more months after. Then I reverted to my normal dietary state.

I do wish to contribute a part to keeping the planet a healthy nice, place, and eating less meat is one of the best things an individual can do.

The problem is that my appetite is enormous.

Some of you that know me in the physical world may know a restaurant around here called The Friendly Toast. A lot of people call that a place to get a large meal. Yeah, I was really surprised when I first heard people say that. Most meals from The Friendly Toast don’t make me full. If I don’t have part of an appetizer, I’ll usually go also eat something else afterwards.

One serving of Soylent does not make a meal for me. It’ll last two hours before I get hungry again. I need two Soylents when I don’t feel particularly hungry, three if I am hungry. One Soylent is a snack.

(And apparently portion sizes are large here in America. I’m truly amazed, really.)

And in particular, I’ve found that it takes a lot of vegetables to be able to add up to the amount that meat is able to make me full, and thus find it quite hard to sustain vegetarianism or veganism for too many meals in a row.

But starting at the publication of this post, I will adopt this new dietary policy:

At meals, I will be as vegetarian as the most vegetarian person I’m eating with at that meal.*

As in, if a bunch of us sit at a table to have a meal, and what is being eaten is determined after we get together, if there’s someone vegetarian in the group, I’m at least vegetarian, and if there’s someone vegan, I’m vegan, for that meal.

As such, I will both average out to eating less meat than normally while also not engaging the level of eating I’ll need to sustain full-on vegetarianism, and also contribute to possible additional comfort for vegetarians and vegans in groups.

*I’m not going to be vegetarian if the only vegetarian options involve asparagus or mushrooms.

One thought on “Matching-Highest-Degree Vegetarianism

  1. That’s a good idea! Maybe I’ll try doing that too, although it probably won’t help much if I eat a majority of my meals alone. =P

Leave a Reply

