A Round of Extraordinary Luck at LearnedLeague

The first MiniLeague that I decided to participate in was the Just Images Maps league, since, well, I love maps. The second round of the MiniLeague went ridiculously well for me in that I answered 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 correctly when I only legitimately knew the answer to 5.

round_2

Q1:

q1

This was probably the least ridiculous of my guesses. I knew what the idea behind the map was, that it shows what would’ve happened if land reclaimed from the sea was reflooded; I just didn’t know what the agents of water blockage were called (levees?). After a lot of weighing options, I decided to guess dikes because I often hear that word in association with the Netherlands and I guessed it sounded like the sort of thing that would function as a levee.

Q2:

q2

I’m definitely not familiar with a map of this sort, but this just looked like a rock face, so I guessed rock climbing. Well.

Q3:

q3

I had no clue what this was, but it looked like a museum. I literally just randomly guessed a museum for which I did not know what its floorplan was like. Turns out, this was in fact a Guggenheim Museum.

Q4:

q4

I only knew the names of so many aviators. I decided to guess one of them, Amelia Earhart. Turns out, one of these was indeed Amelia Earhart.

Q5:

q5

This was the only of the five questions I got right where I actually straight-up knew the answer: Biafra.

Q6:

q6

Ah, tricky question. This one’s a good puzzle.

Leave a Reply

