The MIT Hipster Test

Are you a pretentiously annoyingly sophisticatedly different MIT student always traveling a more enlightened path? Don’t know? Just take this test and find out! Add to your score the specified number of points for each statement true about you.

+2 I am course 11, 12, 17, 22, or 24.
+3 My course number actually even contains a letter*, and the degree I get will actually be different because of it. (*2A, 6M, and 18C don’t count. Those are sooooo mainstream.)
+5 My course number is actually all letters and doesn’t even have a number, bitch.
+13 I am actually course 13.
+1 I have taken a class in twelve different numbered courses.
(+1 more for each additional different numbered course beyond twelve.)
+2 I have had a semester where I took no classes that contribute towards my graduation.
+1 I have had a semester where my coursework spans at least four different course numbers.
(+1 more for each additional different number course beyond four.)
+3 I have had a semester where the number of units I took was not a multiple of 3.
+2 I have had a semester where I took more than one S class (for instance, 6.S082).
+6 I have had a semester where I only took S classes.
+2 I have taken an S class in a course that doesn’t have a course number.
+6 I only take classes you’ve never heard of.
+4 All the classes I take are lit af.
+2 I have had a class I’ve never attended.
+1 I have never taken a class in 32-123.
+1 I have never taken a class in 34-101.
+2 I have never taken a class in 10-250.
+3 I have never taken a class in 26-100.
+1 I have sent an e-mail with no body, just a subject line ending in ‘eom’.
+2 I have sent an e-mail with a body that just contains ‘eom’.
+3 I have sent an e-mail with a body that contains ‘eom’, and then text after the ‘eom’.
+2 I have sent an e-mail with no body and a subject line that is just ‘eom’.
+4 I have sent an e-mail with neither body nor subject line, just a recipient mailing list whose name ends in ‘eom’.
+2 I have, in fact, e-mailed eom@.
+1 I have e-mailed free-food@ requesting food.
+2 I have e-mailed free-food@ with an e-mail irrelevant to food.
+2 I have e-mailed free-food@ about free food more than 1 kilosmoot away from MIT’s campus.
+3 I have e-mailed free-food@ about free food more than 1 megasmoot away from MIT’s campus.
+2 I have made a posting to reuse-condoms@.
+3 I outsource me waking up on time to a mailing list.
+3 I address NSA and FBI agents that may be reading my e-mails in every e-mail I write.
+3 I have used garywang’s subscribe service.
+2 When I am bored, I surf garywang’s subscribe service.
+2 I wrote a script to go through garywang’s subscribe service for me.
+3 When my friends go to get food from Flour, I go to Shaw’s and buy a bag of flour and consume it with them.
+4 When my friends go to get food from Flour, I go to Shaw’s and buy flowers and consume them.
+20 In the above, the antecedent of ‘them’ was ‘my friends’ and not the flowers.
+2 I have eaten at Clover.
+2 I have eaten breakfast at Clover.
+1 I ironically make fun of Chipotle.
+2 I make fun of people ironically making fun of Chipotle.
+2 I ironically make fun of people making fun of Chipotle.
+3 I ironically make fun of people ironically making fun of Chipotle.
+1 I work in an office that I refer to as ‘glorious’.
+3 I sexually identify as a dank meme.
+4 I have engaged in BDSM while hacking.
+6 I like learning modules.
+2 I have used every class of stapler SIPB offers.
+3 I have a Permanent Membership at MITSFS.
+3 I am a member of the Students for a Democratic Society.
+1 I made it all the way through this quiz.

If you scored at least 40, you may be an MIT hipster.
If you scored at least 60, you’re probably an MIT hipster.
If you scored at least 80, you’re definitely an MIT hipster.
If you scored at least 100, you’re fucking scary.

Categories MIT

Leave a Reply

