Two MIT-Adapted Poems

The first I wrote on Jan. 28 last year.

Play Vidya Gam

I am Clam.

Clam I am.

That Clam-I-am!
That Clam-I-am!
I do not like
That Clam-I-am!

Do you like play vidya gam?

I do not like them,
Clam-I-am.
I do not like
Play Vidya gam.

Would you like them
In a clounge?

I would not like them
In a clounge.
I would not like them
Any lounge.
I do not like
Play Vidya gam.
I do not like them,
Clam-I-am.

Would you play them
In a house?
Would you play them
With a mouse?

I do not even
Have a house
I do not even
Have a mouse
I’m in a dorm
Not in a house
I have a touchpad
Not a mouse
I do not like play vidya gam.
I do not like them, Clam-I-am.

Would you play ones
In a box
Or without items
With a fox?

Not in a box.
Not with a fox.
Not in a house.
Not with a mouse.
My final destination lies
In real life, not the fantasyes.
I do not like play vidya gam.
I do not like them, Clam-I-am.

Would you? Could you?
Race a kart?
Play them! Play them!
Here they are.

I would not, could not
Race a kart.

You may like them.
You will see.
You may just like
Rock Band 3.

I would not, could not Rock Band 3.
Not race a kart! You let me be.
I do not like ones in a box.
Or without items using Fox.
I do not have that sort of house.
I do not have that sort of mouse.
I do not like pressing these keys.
Or wandering shops or looting, geez!
I do not like play vidya gam.
I do not like them, Clam-I-am.

You do not like them.
So you say.
Try them! Try them!
And you may.
Try them and you may I say.

Clam!
If you will let me be,
I will try them.
You will see.

Say!
I like play vidya gam!
Gimme your mouse now, Clam-I-am!

I will now, will play Rock Band 3
Thank you, thank you for teach me
I will take things out of that box.
To go no items using Fox.
I will play in the lounge today
And in the kitchen, everyday!

I do so like
Play vidya gam!
Thank you!
Thank you, Clam-I-am.

Modern Arty

‘Twas dumlate, and the tooly studes
Did sim and LaTeX in the labe
All rimsy were the icycludes
And Simmons avant grabe

Beware the modern art, my frosh!
The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Beware the Big Fat Chain and shun
The Scarlet Tetrahatch!

He took his toilet pape in hand
Long time the wanxome foe he sought
So rested he by the Robrob Tree
And stood awhile in thought

And, as in hackish thought he stood,
The modern art, with twisted laugh,
Came transping through the hoary wood,
Its metal limbs lit af!

One, two! One, two! And through and through
The toilet pape went flippy-flap!
It fully spooped and then he swooped
Its laughstone as his cap

“And, hast thou rekt the modern art?
Come to my arms, my beamish frosh
O roachless day! Stay-tah! Stay-tay!
Now give your sweat a wash.”

‘Twas dumlate, and the tooly studes
Did sim and LaTeX in the labe
All rimsy were the icycludes
And Simmons avant grabe

Leave a Reply

