Geography Isn’t Nearly All Memorization #1

True or False: This is the flag of a country where Islam is the most common religion.

  1. pakistan
  2. argentina
  3. bahamas
  4. sudan
  5. guyana
  6. philippines
  7. ecuador
  8. saudi_arabia
  9. samoa
  10. syria
  11. algeria
  12. comoros
  13. tuvalu
  14. oman
  15. tunisia
  16. malaysia
  17. mongolia
  18. mauritania
  19. kazakhstan
  20. transnistria
  21. honduras
  22. zimbabwe
  23. missouri
  24. liechtenstein
  25. solomon_islands

Answers:

  1. True
  2. False
  3. False
  4. True
  5. False
  6. False
  7. False
  8. True
  9. False
  10. True
  11. True
  12. True
  13. False
  14. True
  15. True
  16. True
  17. False
  18. True
  19. True
  20. False
  21. False
  22. False
  23. False
  24. False
  25. False

Compare the number you got correct to the number you would’ve gotten from just guessing (12.5) plus the number of flags you actually knew. Was there really just memorization guiding you here?

Alternatively, if you actually did poorly, let me drop you a hint: if you scored less than 19, than someone who answered False simply on the basis of a flag having blue would’ve done better than you (with due apologies to tritanopes).

UPDATE: previous error of listing Kazakhstan as not plurality-Muslim when it in fact is fixed.

2 thoughts on “Geography Isn’t Nearly All Memorization #1

  1. I missed 14 and 19. 14 I actually did wonder about a bit but decided _probably_ wasn’t Muslim. Amn’t at all sure what country it is.

    Actually, I didn’t miss 19, it looks like you did. I thought it was Uzbekistan, but it’s actually Kazakhstan: either way, though, I was right that it was a majority-Muslim country. Admittedly, the flag doesn’t give that impression: it doesn’t have any of the “Muslim” cues you’re talking about, and if I didn’t know better, I might’ve thought it indicated Tengrism. (It probably is inspired by Tengrism, even though the majority of the country isn’t Tengrist. But, for example, Iran is okay with some Zoroastrian symbolism and holidays, so long as no one suggests they’re non-Islamic.)

    1. Oh my, I recalled something incorrectly myself.

      Shame on me.

      That is now fixed. And now I wonder why I have mentally associated Kazakhstan (as well as Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan) otherwise; my best guess as to that is association to the prevalence of Cyrillic script.

Leave a Reply

