Could’ve

For hours I’ve been writing code
I’m now finished with today’s load
So now I’m sweeping

I have more in life to do
And this place, cleaned through and through
And yet I’m sweeping

I’m not here to clean this place
Or because I’ve time to waste
I’m here for what’s dropped behind
Only I’m not sure I’d find
It while
I’m sweeping up the pasts I’ve never had

Had I known what more there was
Not just lines, but also fuzz
I might not’ve been sweeping the pasts I’ve never had

Yet what I sought was too much breadth
And picking something to take to depth
Leaves orphans: they’re the pasts I’ve never had

And I don’t know what’s in store
Showing what I’ve missed still more
But at least I can sweep the pasts I’ve never had

So please, let me sweep
The pasts I wish I had

3 thoughts on “Could’ve

Leave a Reply

