Six Years

Six years ago was June of 2007.
Now is June of 2013.

Six years ago, I was twelve.
Now, I am eighteen.

Six years ago, I did not know I. Grabski, A. Lin, L. Chen, J. Yuan, S. Johnson, D. Philipson, S. Rubinstein-Salzedo, B. Chen, B. Ray Avalani, S. Ye, or D. Rowlands.
Almost everyone that I have been glad to be acquainted with I first got to know in the last six years, most I have heard of significantly before I met them in real life, and some I haven’t even met in real life yet.

Six years ago, I have been to eight states of the USA.
Now, I have been to fourteen.

Six years ago, I have been to three countries.
Now, I…have still only been to three countries.

Six years ago, I haven’t yet watched Lord of the Rings.
I first watched Lord of the Rings in May 2012. I loved it.

Six years ago, I haven’t read a single Harry Potter book or watched a single Harry Potter movie.
In Spring 2010, I watched part of a Harry Potter movie. I still haven’t read any Harry Potter books.

Six years ago, I could name all the elements of the periodic table.
Now I can’t, because I didn’t bother to learn all the names of the newly named ones. Whoops.

Six years ago, I could name all sovereign countries and their capitals of the world.
Now I still can, but I also know their flags.

Six years ago, I could name 45 moons in the Solar System.
Now I can name 120.

Six years ago, I couldn’t name 10 Pokémon.
Now I can name 100. Uh…I think I can. Wait, can I? Well, definitely much more than 10, at least.

Six years ago, I didn’t know who Sonic the Hedgehog was.
I’m not kidding.

Six years ago, I was nearing the end of chess being in my life. I have not yet started destroying my chess trophies at the time, though.
Over the span of time from November 2011 to June 2012, I have demolished all chess trophies I have won after 2003. I am still today proud that I am no longer a chessplayer.

Six years ago, I didn’t know what the National Ocean Sciences Bowl was.
I was in the fourth place national team for the National Ocean Sciences Bowl in April 2009.

Six years ago, I couldn’t score 20 on the AMC8.
On the 2010 AMC10B, I scored 144. On the 2011 AMC12B, I scored 121.5.

Six years ago, I was not on Facebook.
I first joined Facebook in January 2010. My first account that I used for more than a year was made in October 2010.

Six years ago, I haven’t had a GMail account that I used for more than a month.
I first decided to take a persistent stab at my father’s forbidding me to use GMail in January 2010.

Six years ago, I didn’t know what Art of Problem Solving was.
I first joined Art of Problem Solving in October 2008. I have now made over 5000 posts on Art of Problem Solving, and I have hosted over 20 forum games, which over 150 users have participated in.

Six years ago, I didn’t know what Sporcle was.
I joined Sporcle in December 2010. My quizzes have over 8000 plays.

Six years ago, I didn’t know what Kongregate was.
I joined Kongregate in March 2012. I now have over 9000 Kongregate points.

Six years ago, I didn’t know what WordPress was.
I joined WordPress in August 2011. My blogs, in total, have over 35000 views from over 90 countries, Hong Kong, Puerto Rico, French Polynesia, Isle of Man, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Six years ago, I knew no programming languages.
In the autumn of 2007, I learned TI-BASIC, but the first legitimate programming language I learned was Python, which I started learning in May 2012.

Six years ago, I haven’t yet been to a piano competition.
My first piano competition was in February 2008, in which I won first in the state.

Six years ago, I only listened to classical music.
Rhapsody of Fire’s “Black Dragon” was the first power metal song I listened to, in early 2010. I still love power metal. Classical and power metal music will probably resonate through my blood for a very long time.

Six years ago, I was a hurricane freak.
I still am, but not as much.

Six years ago, I was atheist.
Now, I am agnostic.

Six years ago, I was the only one among my friends that believed gays and lesbians should be allowed to marry.
Now, people who don’t believe gays and lesbians should be allowed to marry are rarely my friends.

Six years ago, I strongly believed that capital punishment should be legal.
In the past six years, my opinion on capital punishment has switched sides far more times than on any other political issue, and I’m now practically neutral.

Six years ago, I was an annoying brat.
Now, I wonder what I would think of myself six years from now, but I know I’m not the  ridiculous person I was when I was twelve.

Six years ago, I was in a junior high school I slightly liked.
I later went a high school I completely disliked. I now go to a college I love with all my heart.

Six years ago, I searched to find x.
Now, I search to find.

2 thoughts on “Six Years

Leave a Reply

