Constellation Classification

I decided to classify the eighty-eight constellations into five brightness classes and five richness classes—brightness indicating the general brightness of stars in the constellation and richness indicating the abundance of interesting astronomical objects, like nebulae, clusters, and galaxies. In the brightness classes, “I” indicates a prominently bright constellation that could be easily discerned even in some urban skies,  and “V” is a “Huh, that’s a constellation?” In the richness classes, “I” indicates astronomical figures abounding everywhere whereas “V” is pretty much devoid of them. Also, color indicates where the constellation is, red being Southern, blue being Northern, and green being Equatorial. They are sorted within each cell from being-closest-to-the-next-cell-up-or-left to being-closest-to-the-next-cell-down-or-right.

In terms of star brightness, Orion is usually considered the brightest constellation of the night sky, with two (!) first magnitude stars and five second magnitude stars. Mensa exhibits the amazing achievement of having no stars in even the brighter half of the fifth magnitude or above. Sagittarius is probably the winner when it comes to astronomical objects, simply dotted with them in its northwestern portion, whereas Octans, for example, has nothing of this sort to show. (At least it can claim being the South Pole constellation.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s