An Overview of Twenary

By ctzmsc3’s request, I shall explain Twenary.

In 14-Ohe (Gregorian: September 2010), I was at the peak of defiance of the decimal system, regarding it as a bad system—unlike numbers around 10 which had very interesting properties, the only thing that seemed special about 10 was that it was somehow the number of fingers we have. Since then, I have gradually reconciled with base ten, mostly using the excuse that since ten is the product of the numbers involved in the expression of the golden ratio, that was a reason beautiful enough to give it a respected status, although whatever connection there actually is is clearly very contrived, if existent. Thus, I developed Twenary to be used as an alternative system in base 12. I thought that the reason other bases lived in shadow was because digits there didn’t have their own set of names, so I assigned them new names. Now, I’m probably fine with either system, but Twenary names are still very fun to say, and thus I still use them to entertain myself (and sometimes others).

Here’s the digits:

0=oh, 1=ih, 2=swa, 3=tyr, 4=qua, 5=vyf, 6=zyk, 7=zyv, 8=ku, 9=nyn, 10=quet, 11=yirt,

Here’s the powers:

12=twen, 144=groza, 1728=sriramka, 12^6=zykexpa, 12^9=nynexpa, 12^12=twenga

Example:

Four thousand five hundred sixty-seven→swasriramka zyvgrozakutwyzyv

Leave a Reply

